Not Just For Christmas

image

I’ve been meaning to do this for a very long time, but, always either had an excuse or let ‘life’ get in the way.
This Christmas, and not just at Christmas, I’m going to do it.
I’m going to get actively involved with helping the Homeless in Perth.

image

I’m not doing it because I think I’m Christian or out of some misguided feelings of guilt, I’m taking the opportunity to return something that was given to me as a child ~ faith, hope and charity.

As a young girl I have many memories of the Smith Family Christmas hampers being delivered to our door and times spent at our local Woman’s Refuge. Some of these memories are good and some, not so much.

image

I’ve been in touch with a couple of local groups and am planning to gather as many friends and family to help. It can be as simple as collecting items of food and clothing over a few weeks and letting me know when you’re ready to donate. There’s no need to hand over money, as I know a lot of us don’t have extra cash. But, sometimes when you’re doing groceries, you might pick up a can of food or a bargain you feel can be donated. Even (used) kid’s school bags, back packs and ladies handbags can be filled with essential items and donated; the list is endless.

I’d like to make this an ongoing thing, so if it’s something you’d like to help with, just email me at
faithhopeandcharity1@gmail.com or PM me on Facebook.

image

I know there’s many groups that need help, but I’ve chosen the Homeless in Perth (for personal reasons). There will always be people and animals in need, and I’m hoping to make just a small difference. Maybe, once I’ve really got this little army of helpers going, we can band out to animal shelters and our aged community? It will be a fabulous venture.

All my love,

Mich xx

Leave a Reply

