Couscous! Mediterranean Style

Couscous, where have you been all my life?

I remember my sister making a Mediterranean couscous years ago (It was amazing!) And I’ve bought store couscous salad, which isn’t bad. But OMG, homemade is waaaay better!

It’s not only delicious and versatile, but, it’s so simple;

Cut up a whole lot of salad stuff and place in a bowl; I went for a Mediterranean style, but you can add anything – even veggies, like peas, corn, broccoli etc

In a bowl I added cherry tomatoes, chopped spinach, mushrooms, red capsicum, cucumber, mustard seeds, garlic and olives – with a good drizzle of a homemade vinaigrette.

You can also roast some sweet potato and carrot to add in when cooled – the ideas are endless!

For every 1 cup of couscous (uncooked), add 2/3 cup of boiled water – straight from the kettle. I did 2 cups and it’s made a salad big enough for sharing at a BBQ – if you want to share. I also sprinkled in a teaspoon of vegetable stock (1 cube)

As soon as the hot water hits the couscous, it starts to absorb, keep fluffing with a fork then once water is absorbed just cover the bowl and leave on the bench to cool.

Now you have a bowl of yummy salad and a bowl of cooled couscous – add it all together and it’s done.

We’ll be having our couscous with the scotch fillet steaks, now marinating in the fridge.

Cheers!

Leave a comment